Joy

Bereavement in Walmart

A couple of months ago I was stripping furniture when I ran out of stripper.  So looking a mess wearing old clothes, no make-up, and old paint in my hair, I did what anybody would do. I went to Walmart.

Praying nobody would recognize me, I darted to the paint section and then thought I’d grab some chicken for dinner and “be outta there”.   Bolting for the checkout, I heard my name. Thinking, “Oh no, I’m a mess” I smiled and turned around.

The lady who called my name was the aunt of a recent 11th hour patient.  She hugged me and  thanked me for all I had done for her family–she even called an out of state relative so I could say hi.

We spoke for 15 minutes about how the family was getting along.  Family members were dealing with their grief in different ways which brought some questions.  She was comforted to know that the feelings they were experiencing were part of the grief process.  I reminded her that Covenant was still there for them through a bereavement program and encouraged her and her family to participate.

Even though I was mortified to be recognized looking like I was, I am thankful to have been there.  We don’t always get to choose when our services are needed but they always matter.

5 Responses to “Bereavement in Walmart”

  1. So true, Joy! Thank you!

  2. Wow…that is really moving! Volunteers really are the heart of hospice.

  3. Joy, thanks for being such a wonderful advocate for Covenant Hospice and the programs and services that we offer. To our community….we are hospice- employees and volunteers together! Thank you for serving Covenant even when you’re in Walmart!

  4. Furniture to Wal-Mart to bereavement on the fly-proving that it is more blessed to give than to receive. Thank you, Joy and all our Covenant Volunteers.

  5. Joy,
    Thank you for sharing this with us. It’s so easy for us to focus on the minor things…and overlook what is truly important. You were there for that family when they needed you. I’m sure in their eyes you will always look like an angel…even with paint in her hair! 😉

Leave a Reply

