Joy

Thank you for your service

As a military ambassador for Covenant I get the honor of bestowing heartfelt thanks and appreciation upon our veterans.

About two months ago, I had the pleasure of meeting  a highly decorated World War II veteran.  It was one of the highlights of my life.  The moment was made all the more special because his daughter and I coordinated the private ceremony while his son was visiting from another state.

I will never forget how this gentleman sat up straight and squared his shoulders to receive our recognition as though it were the Medal of Honor.  Tears welled up in my eyes and my voice cracked as I read our special prayer for veterans.  When I thanked  and “pinned” him with Covenant’s Veteran Pin, the look on his face said more than any words possibly could.

After the ceremony, this American hero shared with me recollections of the war and his experience on the Honor Flight to Washington D.C. to visit the WWII memorial.  But what impressed me most was how he continued to embody the selfless spirit of the “greatest generation”.  In the midst of being celebrated and honored, he offered to share the spotlight with a female Navy veteran that he befriended so that I might learn first-hand about the contribution of women to the military branch I served.

Not long after our meeting, this great man passed away.  His daughter recently told me how proud he was to have received our acknowledgement for his service.  “He bragged on it often,”  she said.

At Covenant, we know the value of the present.  That’s why we don’t wait until Veterans Day to thank our veterans.   We do it every day.

What will you do today, tomorrow, or this week to make a difference in the days of a veteran or anyone who has done the extraordinary?  Visit “We Honor Veterans” to see how you can get involved.

One Response to “Thank you for your service”

  1. Joy, I love your post! Thank you for the important work that you do to honor Covenant’s patients who are veterans and thank you for your service to our country. We welcome current and new Covenant volunteers who are veterans to join our We Honor Veterans program and to help us recognize these unsung heroes…often for the first time in their lives!

Leave a Reply

