Joy

Courage

With the 10th anniversary of 9/11 behind us, I am overwhelmed with thoughts of individual acts of courage and am reminded that Covenant’s patients and families exemplify courage every day.

Just last week while visiting with one of my lady patients, I looked on as a wife directed her husband’s attempt to locate something.  She was doing her best to describe exactly where he could find the item, yet he came up empty.  Looking at me through sad eyes, she said, “I worry about how he’ll get along after I’m gone.”  I didn’t quite know how to respond to that so I just smiled and nodded appreciatively.

Each day our patients and their families face one of the scariest aspects of life with grace and courage.  Unlike the fallen of 9/11, our patients live (often for months) with the reality that their time is short.  Many have the time (and in one way, too much time) to sit and think about a future for which they will no longer be a part.  Yet, despite the uncertainty, sadness, and fear our patients and families embrace  destiny and help one another through life’s final transition.  If that is not the epitome of courage, then I don’t know what is.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

