My New Year’s Resolutions

Happy New Year!  The beginning of a new year is an exciting time for me.  I’m a goal-setter — the kind of person who really enjoys setting my sites on something new and laying out the steps needed to get there.  I write down weekly goals every Monday, quarterly goals for my work, and, of course, New Year’s resolutions.  Do other people find this annoying?  Probably.  But to me, there aren’t many things that give me greater satisfaction than meeting a goal. 

My New Year’s Resolution tend to look something like this:

  1. Lose weight
  2. Stick to a budget
  3. Read x number of books
  4. Clean out the pantry/guest room/garage

But this year, I’m taking a different approach.  For 2012, my resolutions look more like this:

  1. Spend more time with the people I love.

This year, I know that my family will be facing some very hard times.  My father-in-law has cancer and things aren’t looking great.  My maternal grandmother has suffered multiple strokes and isn’t making much sense anymore.  My paternal grandfather has just been admitted to a nursing home and my grandmother is having a hard time coping with their separation.  A dear friend is undergoing chemo and radiation for colon cancer.  And I know that there are probably more, unexpected difficulties in store for us this year.  2011 has been a reminder to me, as I hope it is to you, just how important it is to make memories with those we love.  So this year, that’s my focus. 

Of course, I wouldn’t mind losing a few pounds in the process.

I hope that your new year is full of love and family.  Please share your resolutions with us here!

One Response to “My New Year’s Resolutions”

  1. Wonderful perspective, Melissa! What a beautiful resolution for 2012.

Leave a Reply

