Volunteer Services Manager Keelea LeJeune

Resolve to GIVE BACK in 2012!

In Covenant Hospice’s Volunteer Department, there is no shortage of inspiration.  In fact, on any given day, dozens of Covenant Volunteers can be found assisting patients and families, helping in our offices, or educating the community about the services provided by our organization.   Our volunteers are a constant source of inspiration to me in my job, as well as in other aspects of my life.  They rub off on you, and you just can’t help but to be motivated by the amazing work they do every day. 

Just this past weekend, like so many of us, I was pondering my own New Year’s Resolution.  Of course, like everyone else, I’d love to lose the extra pounds, drop some bad habits, pick up some healthy ones, and see an overall improvement in myself in 2012.  But I’ve resolved do just that in year’s before and here I am…same as always.  How can I make it stick in 2012?  Thinking of the volunteers I work with every day gave me the answer! 

I’ve resolved to focus on recommitting myself to my work;  both my work here at Covenant and to the volunteer work I do in my community.  I believe that by focusing on “paying it forward” this year, I’ll feel better about myself and be more likely to take better care of myself along the way.   I’d like to encourage all of you that have given up on New Year’s Resolutions in the past to resolve to give something back to your community in 2012.  You’re likely to meet some wonderful people, gain some new skills, and feel better about yourself along the way! 

You can find lots of opportunities to get involved with us here at Covenant Hospice, or find a cause that is close to your heart.  It’s all about feeling good about doing something worthwhile and being proud of helping to make our world a better place.  What could be more important than that?

One Response to “Resolve to GIVE BACK in 2012!”

  1. What a great New Year’s Resolution!

Leave a Reply

