Out with the “old”?

This new year is in full swing now…so chances are you’ve said or heard it said already “out with the old, in with the new.” Have you ever considered that saying? Do we really need to put everything behind us and press ahead to newer and better things and places? I wonder. Yes, I get the idea of being positive, focusing on things in our lives that didn’t work or go well and trying to tweak those things. Yes, there have been quasi-hepta-ga-zillion New Year’s resolutions made, and those resolutions are great because they inspire, they challenge, they redirect.

But are we sometimes too anxious to live out that saying and throw the old away and jump on the latest bandwagon or fad or self-improvement tactic? Don’t get me wrong, I’m all for resolve and resolutions. But how quick are we to throw the baby out with the bathwater?

Self-confession: I was faced with this reality as I discussed with my Covenant Hospice team about some of our patients who have passed away. We have a time of remembrance to honor them, and as some names were mentioned, I could not put a face with them. As some faces were mentioned, I could not put a name with them. Though it had only been a few months, those names and faces escaped me. To be fair, none of us can remember everyone we meet and have contact with, maybe even those we’ve given direct care to. But how quick are we to forget, and maybe even hope to forget quickly?

My point is this for us: don’t be so quick to redirect your lives. Have you considered that maybe, just maybe remembering is a way to continuing your journey. Maybe our memory of the “old” is just the thing we need to shape the “new.”

Don’t be so quick to throw the old out: old habits, old memories, old diets. Don’t be so quick to bring in new habits, new memories, new diets. Because if memory serves me right, we end up throwing a lot of those out the following January. Experts tell me it takes 21 days to make a habit. We are just past that in January so if you haven’t lived up to those “new” resolutions, then you probably won’t. Don’t be discouraged. Maybe by remembering some of the “old” it will encourage you to keep journeying into the “new.”

I’d love to hear your thoughts and struggles and successes with 2012. May this year bring blessing in all things “old” and “new.”

One Response to “Out with the “old”?”

  1. Sally B. Holder, RN January 24, 2012 at 4:46 pm

    Curtis: First of all, I you have a great smile in your picture…But really, what you said is so true. Especially the memory part. I will have lived with my aging mother one year on February 17th and I see her memory leaving her ever so quickly. So in response to your blog, we will be “throwing out the old” memory soon enough, because as our minds age, we tend to lose the ability to remember and how sad it is if we continue to hurry it up as in “out with the old and in with the new.” And as far as I am concerned, I am afraid if I throw out the old today, I will more than likely need or want it tomorrow. Sally

Leave a Reply

