Thank you Crystal

If you volunteer with Covenant, you quickly discover 2 things: 1) It gets in your blood.  2.) There’s always something or some way to help.

Lately, my travels have prevented me from making patient/family visits.  Unfortunately, over the next few months my schedule will continue to be sporadic and I was hesitant to take on helping people when I can’t offer the proper attention.  But at the same time, I got really sad about missing out on the experience of helping our patients.

I decided that I needed to talk to my volunteer manager, Crystal Hudson, about how I could contribute.  And Crystal had the ideal solution: We have a pateint who has been sleeping through her medication schedule and was in need of telephone reminders.  As soon as I heard this I thought, “Perfect!  I can do phone calls from anywhere.”  Now I call this wonderful lady 3 times a day helping her maintain an important aspect of her quality of life while getting personal satisfaction that I am contributing to her happiness and Covenant’s mission.  Within the first two days, my little reminder calls evolved into lovely little “mini visits” for both of us.

Thank you Crystal for finding the perfect way for me to help right now.  It doesn’t matter how much of yourself you can give to Covenant.  It only matters that you do. So if your circumstances happen to have changed, will you talk to your volunteer manager today?

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

