Daddy’s home

Father. Such a formal word, isn’t it? I’m a dad, but my young kids have never called me father. When I come home at the end of the day, it’s “daddy’s home.” To my kids, I’ve been gone forever and they are so happy to see me. I don’t know what it is when we are kids, but there was just something special about daddy being home. Something was different.

Now, as a dad, I don’t think I will ever tire of that–or being called “daddy.” But, then, what happens over our lifetimes? Slowly, the “daddy” turns to “dad” and then even “father” as adult children speak to or of their daddys. Why the change? What happens in us? Does “daddy” change? Hardly. Daddy is always daddy. And we love him for that simple fact alone. Does daddy fail? Absolutely. No daddy is perfect save One. But we love our daddys because he is just that–our daddy.

As a Chaplain with Covenant Hospice, I am privileged to sit and talk with “daddys” of all ages and sorts. And, I am able to witness some of these same homecomings I experience with my kids, but with a different twist. Instead of daddy being home at the end of the workday, these kids are seeing their daddys’ transition into eternity. It is during these times I have reminded the kids of our patients, “daddy’s home, daddy’s home.”

Some of you may be facing this Father’s Day without anticipation or with trepidation. What brings you comfort as Father’s Day approaches? I’d love to hear and share with other readers, patients, and families.

One Response to “Daddy’s home”

  1. Thank you for this lovely article, Curtis. My father remained “Daddy” throughout his 79 years on earth. I was his first child and always loved being “Daddy’s little girl”. When I married and had my own children I still cherised this special relationship with my Daddy. The last Father’s Day before he died I gave him a book about fathers and slipped my own story about him in the book. He called me after finding that story and we laughed and cried together over the phone as we talked about the “lessons” that I had learned from him. He has been gone almost three years now. Every time I talk with my sisters and brother about him we refer to him as Daddy. I can’t wait to see him again and when I do, I’ll run into the arms of my precious “Daddy”. Happy Father’s Day, Daddy.

Leave a Reply

