The Perfect Storm

June 9th, 2012 is a date that many residents of Escambia county will not soon forget. Flooding rains poured down throughout the area, leaving many roadways underwater and several homes and businesses soaked. Over thirteen inches of rainfall was reported, making it the wettest day on record since 1934!

While most people will more than likely remember this day for the miserable road conditions and the flood water inner-tubing in parking lots throughout the city, it will hold some significance to me for a slightly different reason.

I volunteer at the  Covenant Hospice Inpatient and Palliative Care Center at West Florida Hospital every Saturday, and I just happened to be scheduled to be there on June 9th. When I woke up that morning to find a particularly heavy rainstorm taking place outside, I almost didn’t go.  I figured that one day off wouldn’t hurt.

However, I began to question myself about whether or not something important would happen. What if I was really needed that day after all? After thinking it over for several moments, I decided to just brave the storm and head down anyway.

The road conditions were horrid, of course. The visibility was poor, my car nearly slid twice, and I could see water gushing out of the manholes I drove by. The parking lot at the hospital was underwater and it reached my ankles. I have a friend who has an intense loathing for wet socks, and at that moment I really felt her pain, since I had to deal with them for the next three hours!

Many people joked with me throughout the day about the weather. Several times I was asked, “My goodness, did you take a boat up to work today?”

To which I would reply, “No, but I really should have.”

In the end, however, the trek ended up being worth it. I don’t want to go into too much detail about what happened for understandable reasons, but it ended up being one of my most eventful days of volunteering.

Now, I’m not saying that you should drive through the middle of a hurricane or any other dangerous conditions like that. In fact, please don’t ever do anything like that and risk your life if you can help it! I just happen to find it delightfully odd that the one day I nearly reconsidered not arriving when I was scheduled ended up being one of my most rewarding experiences.

About Heather

Hello!!! :)

One Response to “The Perfect Storm”

  1. Thanks for your dedication Heather! Covenant volunteers are amazing people – always going to extra mile and sometimes in the middle of a storm! We appreciate you so very much!

Leave a Reply

